WORLD REFUGEE DAY - ONE WAY TICKET FROM MOSCOW TO HOLLYWOOD

IRINA CHKOURINDINA, DAVID LEWIS & SOPHIE GRAF

20 June 2018 at 19:30

Auditorium, Centre des arts, La Grande Boissière

Irina Chkourindina (Piano)
David Lewis (Actor)
Sophie Graf (Soprano)
 
Doors open: 19:00
Concert: 19:30

 
On World Refugee Day, Ecolint joins forces with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees to honour the courage and resilience of those who have had to flee their homes. As the world faces an unprecedented number of families fleeing their homes, the highest number yet since World War II, Ecolint is organising several events in partnership with the UNHCR, on 20 June 2018 – World Refugee Day.
 
The cornerstone of this day will be the concert “One-Way Ticket from Moscow to Hollywood” to commemorate the talents of Sergeï Rachmaninoff and his life in exile. The concert will feature the Russian-Swiss pianist Irinia Chkourindina along with a soprano and texts read by an actor. 
 
This concert will pay tribute to Sergeï Vasilyevich Rachmaninoff, a brilliant composer and conductor, and the greatest pianist of the 20th century, and will mark the 100th anniversary of his departure into exile on 23 December 1917. In 2017, one hundred years will have passed since Rachmaninoff had to tear himself away from his native home and abandon all his personal possessions, including his property of Ivanovka, near Tambov, in Russia. His sole luggage consisted of one suitcase containing a few musical scores. 
 
Like artists Wagner, Stravinsky and Bartok, Rachmaninoff suffered terribly while in exile – an exile from which he would never return.

JOURNÉE MONDIALE DU RÉFUGIÉ - ONE WAY TICKET FROM MOSCOW TO HOLLYWOOD

IRINA CHKOURINDINA, DAVID LEWIS & SOPHIE GRAF

20 juin 2018 à 19h30

Auditorium, Centre des arts, La Grande Boissière

Irina Chkourindina (Piano)
David Lewis (Comédien)
Sophie Graf (Soprano)
 
Ouverture des portes: 19h00
Concert: 19h30

 
A l'occasion de la Journée mondiale du réfugié, l'Ecolint s'associe au Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés pour rendre hommage au courage et à la résilience de ceux qui ont dû fuir de chez eux. Alors que le monde est confronté à un nombre sans précédent de familles en fuite, le plus grand nombre depuis la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l'Ecolint organise plusieurs événement en partenariat avec le HCR, le 20 juin 2018 - la Journée mondiale du réfugié.
 
Le point culminant de cette journée sera le concert "One Way Ticket from Moscow to Hollywood" pour commémorer les talents de Sergeï Rachmaninoff et sa vie en exil. Le concert mettre en vedette la pianiste russo-suisse Irinia Chkourindina, ainsi qu'une soprano et des textes lus par un comédien.
 
Ce concert rendra hommage à Sergeï Vasilyevich Rachmaninoff, un brillant compositeur, chef d'orchestre et le plus grand pianiste du XXe siècle, et marquera le 100e anniversaire de son départ en exil le 23 décembre 1917. En 2017, cent ans se seront écoulés depuis que Rachmaninoff a dû s'arracher à sa maison natale et abandonner toutes ses possessions personnelles, y compris sa propriété d'Ivanovka, près de Tambov, en Russie. Il emporta avec lui qu'une seule valise contenant une poignée partitions. 
 
Comme les artistes Wagner, Stravinsky et Bartok, Rachmaninoff a souffer terriblement en exil - un exil duquel il ne rentrerait jamais.