WORKSHOP - THEATRE OF THE OPPRESSED

JULIAN BOAL

25 to 27 September 2017

Theatre, Centre des arts, La Grande Boissière

The International School of Geneva is pleased to welcome you again for a 13-hour workshop on the Theatre of the Oppressed, a set of techniques developed by the renown Brazilian writer and director Augusto Boal in the 60s.
 
The workshop will be led by Julian Boal, theatre practitioner and son of the creator of this socially committed theatrical form. Together with the Theatre of the Oppressed group that he founded in Paris, Julian Boal continues his father's work since 2009.
 
During the 1960s, Augusto Boal developed a variety of theatrical techniques allowing the "spect-actors," as he defined them, to observe, analyse, and then participate in scenes representing situations of suffering caused by the subjugation of certain human beings to others.
 
With this particular form of expression which deconstructs the classical artist-public relationship, a voice is given to those who have none. Throughout the scenes, whether staged or improvised, ideas arise and find their way onto the stage; solidarity emerges and we try, with our own experience, to imagine ways of acting against the injustices that resonate within each of the participants.

ATELIER - THÉÂTRE DE L'OPPRIMÉ

JULIAN BOAL

25 au 27 septembre 2017

Théâtre, Centre des arts, La Grande Boissière

L’Ecole Internationale de Genève a le plaisir d’accueillir à nouveau le public pour un atelier de 13 heures sur le Théâtre de l’opprimé, un ensemble de techniques développées par le célèbre écrivain et metteur en scène brésilien Augusto Boal dans les années 60.
 
L’atelier sera conduit par Julian Boal, professionnel du théâtre et fils du créateur de cette forme théâtrale socialement engagée. Avec le Groupe du Théâtre de l’opprimé qu’il a fondé à Paris, Julian Boal poursuit l’oeuvre de son père depuis 2009.
 
Au cours des années soixante, Augusto Boal met au point diverses techniques théâtrales permettant au «spect-acteur», ainsi qu’il le nomme, d’observer, d’analyser puis de participer à des scènes représentant des situations de souffrances provoquées par l’assujettissement de certains humains à leurs semblables.
 
A travers cette forme d’expression particulière, qui déconstruit le schéma classique du rapport artiste-public, la parole est donnée à ceux qui en sont privés. Au gré des scènes, préparées ou improvisées, les idées surgissent et s’invitent sur scène; la solidarité s’esquisse et l’on s’efforce ensemble, avec son vécu propre, d’imaginer des pistes afin d’agir contre les injustices qui résonnent en chacun des participants.