DISTURBING THE PEACE

With the associations COMBATANTS FOR PEACE and B8 OF HOPE

4 October 2017 at 19:30

Auditorium, Centre des arts, La Grande Boissière

With:
Stephen Apkon (Réalisateur)
Marcina Hale (Réalisatrice)
Suleiman Khatib (Activiste)
Chen Alon (Activiste)

 

The documentary Disturbing the Peace, the screening of which will be followed by a Q&A session with two protagonist-activists, is a true concentration of hope and humanity. It presents the extraordinary work of the NGO Combatants for Peace, composed of Palestinians and Israelis who actively participated in the cycle of violence in the region, but have since chosen the path of non-violence in promoting peace and harmonious co-existence.
 
The NGO holds nonviolent protests, educational tours of the occupied territories, in-house meetings, “Learning
Peace” lectures and meetings of activists in Israel and in Palestine. Combatants for Peace strives for the end of the occupation and opposes any form of violence on either side, calling for the recognition of a dialogue between partners.
 
Disturbing the Peace is about people born into conflict, sworn to be enemies, who challenged their fate. The film follows former enemy combatants – Israeli soldiers from elite units and Palestinian fighters, many of whom served years in prison – who have joined together to challenge the status quo and say “enough.” The film reveals their transformational journeys from soldiers committed to armed battle to nonviolent peace activists, leading to the creation of combatants for peace.
 
Disturbing the Peace is a story of the human potential unleashed when we stop participating in a story that no longer serves us and, with the power of our convictions, take action to create new possibilities.

DISTURBING THE PEACE

Avec les associations COMBATANTS FOR PEACE et B8 OF HOPE

4 octobre 2017 à 19h30

Auditorium, Centre des arts, La Grande Boissière

Avec:
Stephen Apkon (Réalisateur)
Marcina Hale (Réalisatrice)
Suleiman Khatib (Activiste)
Chen Alon (Activiste)
 
 
Le documentaire Disturbing the Peace, dont la projection sera suivie d’une séance de questions-réponses avec deux protagonistes-activistes, est un véritable concentré d’espoir et d’humanité. Il présente le travail extraordinaire de l’ONG Combatants for Peace, composée de Palestiniens et d’Israéliens qui ont activement participé au cycle de violence dans la région, mais ont depuis choisi la voie de la non-violence dans la promotion de la paix et de la coexistence harmonieuse.
 
L’ONG organise des manifestations non violentes, des visites éducatives des territoires occupés, des rencontres internes, des conférences sur « l’apprentissage de la paix » et des réunions entre militants en Israël et en Palestine. Combatants for Peace s’efforce de mettre fin à l’occupation et s’oppose à toute forme de violence de part et d’autre, appelant à la reconnaissance du dialogue entre partenaires. 
 
Disturbing the Peace traite des personnes nées dans le conflit, vouées à être ennemies, et qui ont défié leur sort. Le film suit des anciens combattants ennemis – des soldats d’élite israéliens et des combattants palestiniens, dont beaucoup ont été emprisonnés durant des années – qui se sont unis pour contester le statut quo et dire « assez ». Le film dévoile leurs transformations de soldats engagés dans des luttes armées en militants pour la paix non-violents, jusqu’à la création de Combatants for Peace.
 
Disturbing the Peace est une histoire du potentiel humain qui peut être déchaîné lorsque nous cessons de participer à une histoire qui ne nous sert plus et que, grâce au pouvoir de nos convictions, nous prenons des mesures pour créer de nouvelles possibilités.